
STATE OF NEVADA, BUREAU OF SAFE DRINKING WATER

CERTIFICATION RENEWAL CYCLE INFORMATION

When you renew, ensure your application is complete.  You must submit:  
1) The Renewal Application; 
2) A check for $30 or a properly processed e-payment receipt (attach it or write the confirmation number on front of application); and 
3) Copies of certificates for contact hours earned during the two year cycle in which the certificate was in force.  
If you are using the e-payment system, these documents must be e-mailed on the same day.
Please, make sure the application is filled out completely (signed/dated, and yes/no legal question answered on the second page). Please include a current e-mail address on the application.
A few notes to make processing your application faster:

1. Fill out both pages of the application.  Be sure to sign and date the second page.

2. The “yes/no” question on the second page regarding compliance with NAC 445A.646 must be answered.
3. Submit copies of certificates from contact hours earned during the two year cycle in which the certificate was in force. 
4. Contact hours are required for each active certificate.  For example, if you hold a Full D-1 and an OIT D-2, five contact hours are required for each active certificate, for a total of ten hours.

5. D1, D2, T1, and T2 operators are required to submit 5 hours of preapproved training certificates for each certificate they intend to renew.  D3, D4, T3, and T4 operators are required to submit 10 hours of preapproved training certificates for each certificate they intend to renew.  Contact or training hours are not transferrable to more than one certificate renewal.
6. Submit your application early, we tend to get a lot of “procrastinators” and get swamped the last week in December.  Early applicants will get processed more quickly.  If we need clarification, we will strive to contact you prior to the deadline date.  If you wait to submit until December and we find your application to be non-approvable, you risk having to reinstate with penalty costs incurred.
7. YOU should review your application for completeness/accuracy before you sign it, especially if someone else filled it out for you.  Your operator certification is a license to work.  It only takes a few minutes to review your application to make sure it is accurate and complete.  
What to expect after you submit your renewal application:

Per Nevada Administrative Code 445A.6293.3, we are required to provide a renewal card by January 30th.  The number of operator certificates has increased significantly since these regulations were written and we will do our best to issue renewal cards on time.  We will produce a mass mailing of all the wallet cards at one time.  
We ask that you please be patient.  If cards are not mailed by the end of January, we will update our webpage with an estimated date for delivery.  
Throughout the year, you can find valuable information on the Bureau of Safe Drinking Water’s website at http://ndep.nv.gov/bsdw/index.htm as well as on your website for the Nevada Water & Wastewater Operator’s Forum at http://ndep.nv.gov/dwo/index.html. 
Help us to help you get your renewal cards on time!  Get your applications in early!  Don’t risk being denied because we need more information!
Max Sosa, msosa@ndep.nv.gov, 775-687-9527

Rachel Weingart, rWeingart@ndep.nv.gov, 775-687-9519
Applications can be e-mailed to OpCert@ndep.nv.gov

	DO NOT WRITE IN THIS SPACE

	Approved by:
	
	Approved Date:
	


STATE OF NEVADA

BUREAU OF SAFE DRINKING WATER

APPLICATION FOR RENEWAL OF

WATER DISTRIBUTION/TREATMENT OPERATOR CERTIFICATE

	INSTRUCTIONS

	Complete application and attach continuing education verification information.  Mailed applications should be sent to: Bureau of Safe Drinking Water, 901 S. Stewart Street, Ste 4001, Carson City, NV 89701 with the renewal fee attached, or copy of e-payment receipt from: https://epayments.ndep.nv.gov/    If using E-Pay, completed applications may be scanned and e-mailed to OpCert@ndep.nv.gov .

IMPORTANT: If using e-payment, please create your login using your personal information, not your Employer’s.  Use the link to “Pay an Invoice or Recurring Fee,” and then “Safe Drinking Water, Operator Certification.”  Please put YOUR personal information in any area that asks for your Company information, then the receipt will be in your name and we will know who the fees are for.  Applications must be emailed or faxed if using e-pay.  Scanned applications should be one single document (not 10 separate pages, please).  Applications can be printed from : http://ndep.nv.gov/bsdw/cert_home.htm. Do not double side copies or your information may end up missing.

	

	For technical questions, please contact Max Sosa, 775-687-9527 or msosa@ndep.nv.gov 
For administrative questions please contact: Rachel Weingart, (775) 687-9519 or rweingart@ndep.nv.gov

	PLEASE KEEP A COPY OF ALL SUBMITTED DOCUMENTS.


	APPLICATION REVIEW FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE

	               Renewal Applications are accepted from                                  Reinstatements are accepted from January 1st

                     September 1 through December 31st.                                                        through June 30th.

	Renewal fee is $30.00
	Reinstatement fee is $100.00


	Are you a contract operator?  YES ( or NO (  

Except as bound by the Freedom of Information Act, do you want BSDW to try and keep your contact information confidential?  (Checking “Yes” will limit the number of professional notifications you receive from outside parties such as training providers, vendors or recruitment firms.) YES ( or NO (

	
	

	FULL or OIT _______________________________Your Operator I.D. # OP________________

  Circle one

GRADE





     ID# is on your invoice

	
	

	
	____ ________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

	
	PRINT NAME AS YOU WANT IT TO APPEAR ON YOUR RENEWAL CARD

	
	

	
	_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

	
	ADDRESS NUMBER
	STREET NAME
	APARTMENT NUMBER

	
	

	
	_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

	
	CITY
	STATE
	ZIP
	EMAIL ADDRESS

	
	_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

	
	(WORK)                             ( EXTENSION)             SUPV NAME & NUMBER 
	(HOME)
	(CELL)

	Grades I and II = 5 contact hours, Grades III and IV = 10 contact hours; 
Safety Training = 2.5 hours MAXIMUM


Please visit our website at: http://ndep.nv.gov/bsdw/cert_home.htm for other valuable Operator Certification information.
Operator Name:  ____________________________________________
     Page ___ of ___



Print name legibly please

If attaching a transcript or list of classes from an approved training facility, you may write, “see attached”


NAME OF COURSE CONTENT SUMMARY, and be sure to sign this page.)
	(Use additional sheets if necessary)
	TOTAL HOURS OF

ATTENDANCE

______________

	NAME:
	
	
	

	
	

	DATE(S):
	
	
	

	
	

	LOCATION:
	
	
	

	
	

	INSTRUCTOR:
	
	
	

	
	

	INSTRUCTOR’S TITLE/EMPLOYER:
	
	
	


	
	TOTAL HOURS OF

ATTENDANCE

______________

	NAME:
	
	
	

	
	

	DATE(S):
	
	
	

	
	

	LOCATION:
	
	
	

	
	

	INSTRUCTOR:
	
	
	

	
	

	INSTRUCTOR’S TITLE/EMPLOYER:
	
	
	


APPLICANT SIGNATURE:  ________________________________________________  DATE:______________________________
PLEASE LEGIBLY PRINT NAME: ____________________________________________

NOTE: YOU MUST CHECK THE YES OR NO BOX BELOW OR YOUR APPLICATION WILL BE REJECTED.  To review the content of Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) 445A.646:  Click here: NAC 445A.646, or visit our website at:  www. ndep.nv.gov/bsdw.  Click on “Regulations”, then NAC Water Controls and scroll down to NAC 445A.646 – “Denial of Application: Grounds”.
( Yes ( No Have you ever been in violation of any of the provisions contained in Nevada Administrative Code 445A.646?  If yes, please explain on an attached sheet. 
Active Military?    _(_Yes_(_No   MOS#_________________________________________________________
Credit for continuing education is granted for participation in a training course that has been preapproved by the Bureau of Safe Drinking Water with verification of attendance.  Alternately, the Bureau of Safe Drinking Water may grant continuing education for attendance in a course, if the course is relevant to the operation and maintenance of water treatment or water distribution.  Verification for attendance at a non-preapproved course must include course syllabus, instructor’s name, instructor’s title, instructor’s address, length of course (hours), location of course, and a copy of the attendance list or letter from instructor verifying attendance.

Current certification status is posted, for all active certificates, on our webpage at http://ndep.nv.gov/bsdw/cert_home.htm/  
Name: ________________________________________________ 

     Page ____ of _____

NAME OF COURSE CONTENT SUMMARY (Use additional sheets if necessary, and be sure to sign this page.)

YOU DO NOT HAVE TO PRINT THIS PAGE IF YOU DO NOT USE IT.
If attaching a transcript or list of classes from an approved training facility, you may write, “see attached”

	
	TOTAL HOURS OF

ATTENDANCE

___________

	NAME:
	
	
	

	
	

	DATE(S):
	
	
	

	
	

	LOCATION:
	
	
	

	
	

	INSTRUCTOR:
	
	
	

	
	

	INSTRUCTOR’S TITLE/EMPLOYER:
	
	
	


	
	TOTAL HOURS OF

ATTENDANCE

___________

	NAME:
	
	
	

	
	

	DATE(S):
	
	
	

	
	

	LOCATION:
	
	
	

	
	

	INSTRUCTOR:
	
	
	

	
	

	INSTRUCTOR’S TITLE/EMPLOYER:
	
	
	


	
	TOTAL HOURS OF

ATTENDANCE

___________

	NAME:
	
	
	

	
	

	DATE(S):
	
	
	

	
	

	LOCATION:
	
	
	

	
	

	INSTRUCTOR:
	
	
	

	
	

	INSTRUCTOR’S TITLE/EMPLOYER:
	
	
	


	
	TOTAL HOURS OF

ATTENDANCE

____________

	NAME:
	
	
	

	
	

	DATE(S):
	
	
	

	
	

	LOCATION:
	
	
	

	
	

	INSTRUCTOR:
	
	
	

	
	

	INSTRUCTOR’S TITLE/EMPLOYER:
	
	
	


                                                                                                      Last updated 07/16/2015

