
 
 

Nevada Mercury Control Program (NMCP) 
Overview and Guidance, July 2006 

 
*This document is intended as an abbreviated review only; for complete guidance refer to NAC 445B.3611-3689. 

 
 

Introduction 
 

The Voluntary Mercury Reduction Program (VMRP) began in June 2002 with the goal to 
achieve significant, permanent and rapid reductions in mercury air emissions from 
precious metal processing operations.  Reductions are achieved by adding emission 
controls to thermal units that emit mercury.  Facilities and emission units involved in the 
VMRP are listed in NAC 445B.3653.   
 
VMRP status is by emission unit; a facility may have both VMRP and non-VMRP 
emission units.  The voluntary approach was pursued because mercury emissions 
reductions could occur rapidly. In contrast, implementation of a Federal MACT standard 
would take as many as 10 years to implement the rules and another 2 years to install the 
emission controls.   
 
According to the US EPA, the VMRP companies comprised more than 90 percent of 
reported mercury air emissions in Region 9 in 2000. The VMRP companies have already 
reduced their emissions by more than 80% and the remaining companies comprise a 
much smaller portion of the potential emissions. 
 
The Nevada Mercury Control Program (NMCP) is a State regulatory Program that 
supersedes and replaces the VMRP--it is not voluntary.  The NMCP was adopted March 
8, 2006 and made effective May 4, 2006.  The Program achieves mercury reduction via 
add-on control technologies by implementing “NvMACT.”  NvMACT is “...a standard, 
method of control or any other limitation which is applied to an existing, new or modified 
thermal unit that emits mercury” (NAC 445B3629). 
 
The “starting point” or “baseline” for NvMACT is the “Presumptive NvMACT.”  The 
Presumptive NvMACT “...is technologies to control mercury emissions which have been 
implemented before May 4, 2006 and associated with Tier-1 units” (NAC 445B.3639).  
Tier-1 units are VMRP units.  NvMACT is based on each discrete thermal mercury 
emission unit at a facility.   
 
For new/modified emission units, NvMACT is at minimum the emission control that is 
achieved in practice by the best controlled similar emission unit within the precious 
metals mining industry.  A determination of similar emission units may take into account 
ore mercury concentration, size of process units and other relevant factors.  NDEP will 
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use the principles of  MACT consistent with Section 112(d) of the Clean Air Act in 
establishing NvMACT.   
 
Pursuant to NAC 445B.3625, owners or operators that operate, construct or modify a 
thermal unit that emits mercury must apply for, and obtain, a Mercury Operating Permit 
to Construct (Mercury OPTC) to apply the NvMACT.  Construction of a new or modified 
thermal unit that emits mercury requires a permit before construction begins.   
 
Those emission units subject to NvMACT must install controls no later than 24 months 
after final Phase-2 permit issuance, unless deferred 48 months with the Director-
designated Early Reduction Credit. 
 
 

Phase and Tier Designations 
 
One of the principal goals of the NMCP is to “phase” existing facilities into the 
NvMACT for thermal units that emit mercury.  New or modified units are required to 
implement the NvMACT immediately, without “phasing-in.”  The NMCP Program uses 
the “phase” and “tier” designations to describe the chronological staging of a discrete 
emission point phasing into the NvMACT.  There are (2) Phase and (3) Tier designations.  
Phases are denoted as “Phase-1” and “Phase-2.”  Tiers are designated as “Tier-1,” “Tier-
2” or “Tier-3.”  Each Tier and Phase has a specific set of requirements. 
 
In broad terms, Phase-1 is designed to collect information for NMCP fees and to establish 
consistent monitoring, recordkeeping and reporting methods and to begin stack testing of 
thermal units with the potential to emit mercury.  In Phase-2, the NvMACT is established 
from the data acquired in the Phase-1 source tests and specific mercury emission limits, 
testing requirements, monitoring, record keeping and reporting requirements are 
established in the Mercury OPTC. 
 
“Tiers” designate different emission units.  Tier-1 designates a VMRP emission unit and 
it’s emission control(s) as designated in NAC 445B.3653.  Tier-2 denotes a thermal unit 
that emits mercury other than a Tier-1/VMRP unit (or Tier-3/de minimis unit).  Tier-3 is 
a Director-designated de minimis unit.   
 
The phasing process begins with the Phase-1, Tier-1 units (VMRP).  Phase-1, Tier-1 
applications are required for submittal by August 2, 2006.  Next are the Phase-1, Tier-2 
units (non-VMRP) which require applications submitted by October 31, 2006.  These two 
Tiers encompass all units in industry.  Phase-1 permits are required for existing units 
constructed before March 4, 2006. 
 
Following Phase-1 is Phase-2, which includes Tier-1 and Tier-2 units.  Phase-2 
applications are required for submittal by February 4, 2008.  After a public review 
process, NDEP will make a determination of final NvMACT standard for each subject 
thermal unit that emits mercury with appropriate revisions to the facility’s mercury 
OPTC.  
 
Tier-3 applications may be submitted at any time during either Phase. 
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Phase-2
Determine NvMACT, issuance of 

final Mercury OPTC

- Application questions similar to Questionnaire questions;
- No NvMACT established yet—facilities operate existing controls as-is;
- Phase-1, Tier-1 & Tier-2 will encompass all of regulated community;
- Facilities submit a plan for monitoring, record keeping and reporting;
- Facilities test thermal units with potential to emit mercury;
- Permit lists emission units; limits not established until Phase-2;
- Public notice for each facility unit.

Tier-1

Tier-2

VMRP units.  Applications due Aug. 2, 2006.  

Non-VMRP units.  Applications due Oct. 31, 2006.  

All units.  Applications due Feb. 4, 2008.  Tier-1 & 2

- Set NvMACT using source data acquired in Phase-1;
- NvMACT set using guidelines of MACT in CAA 112(d);
- Phase-2 permit is final permit for NvMACT (until exp.);
- Monitor, record keeping & reporting requirements;
- Permit has mercury limits and testing requirements;
- Public notice for each facility unit.

Phase-1
Inquiry, testing & data acquisition

Tier-3 De Minimis determined on case-by-case basis by 
Director.  Tier-3 / De Minimis designation requests 
may be submitted at any time. 
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Mercury emitting thermal unit 
 

1.  A mercury emitting thermal unit has the potential to emit (even if very low mercury in 
ore). 

2.  Only mercury emitting thermal units are brought into NvMACT; not thermal units. 
3.  All laboratory mercury emitting thermal units are regulated; however, laboratory 

furnaces (only) are not included in fiscal billing.  Laboratory hoods themselves are 
not included in fiscal billing, but equipment vented out them may be.  Laboratory 
equipment are not default de minimis. 

4.  A laboratory hood is not a mercury emitting thermal unit; however, equipment vented 
to the hood may be (the hood stack would be the emission discharge point). 

5.  The definition of thermal unit is intended to be for units involved with metallic 
mineral processing/ore (not air make-up heaters, generators, etc.) 

 
 

Application for Existing Units 
 

Among other requirements, applications must include:  limitations on the operation which 
affect mercury emissions, a description of the fuels, fuel use and raw materials to be used 
and the rates of production and operating schedules for each unit (445B.3671). 

 
Phase-1, Tier-1: methods of monitoring and recordkeeping for controls, proposed 

schedule for sampling and performance tests annually (according to 445B.252), 
requirement to report mercury emissions and co-product annually (by unit).  
Initial testing must be reported to the Director by December 31, 2006.  After 
submitting, initial test results may request alternate testing schedule (445B.3673). 

 
Phase-1, Tier-2:  methods of monitoring and recordkeeping for controls, proposed 

sample and performance tests, report mercury emissions (based on test data) and 
co-product annually (by unit) (445B.3673). 

 
Phase-2, Tier-1 and Phase-2, Tier-2:  Must include a NvMACT analysis, conducted 

by applicant and a monitoring plan pursuant to 445B.3675. 
 
 

Application Review and Action (445B.3677) 
 

New Phase-1 or Phase-2 and Revision of mercury OPTC for Tier-1 or Tier-2:  The 
Director shall determine completeness within 30 calendar days of receipt.  If 
deemed incomplete, the applicant must re-submit within 15 days.  Date deemed 
complete = official date of submission or 31st day after receipt. 

 
New Phase-1, Revision of mercury OPTC issued pursuant to Phase-1 for Tier-1 or 

Tier-2:  Within 180 days director shall propose permit conditions, include 
presumptive NvMACT for Tier-1, apply early reduction credit actions. 

 
New Phase-2, revision of mercury OPTC issues pursuant to a Phase-2 application for 

a Tier-1 or Tier 2 thermal unit:  within 9 months after official date of submittal 
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Director shall propose conditions and determine NvMACT.  Director’s review 
and proposed conditions for mercury OPTC will have 30 days public 
notice/comment period.  Public hearing may be requested.  Within 12 months 
Director will take final action on new/revised Phase-1 OPTC; 16 months for 
new/revised Phase-2 OPTC. 

 
NvMACT must be implemented within 24 months after OPTC issued pursuant to Phase-2 
application.  If early reduction credit had been approved by director, must be 
implemented within 48 months. 
 
 

Application for new or modified thermal units that emit mercury (445B.3681). 
 

Application for revision or new mercury OPTC must include, among other requirements: 
limitations on the operations which affect emissions of mercury and NvMACT analysis. 
 
 

Review and Action on application for new/modified thermal unit that emits mercury 
(445B.3683). 

 
Within 30 days after date of receipt Director will determine if complete.  Official date of 
submission = date deemed complete or defaults complete on 31st day.  Within 180 days 
after official date of submittal director shall propose conditions, make a determination of 
NvMACT, make a preliminary determination to issue or deny and establish public notice 
and 30 day comment period.  Public hearing if requested.  60 days after comment period 
Director shall make decision to issue or deny. 
 
 

OPTC Expiration and Extension (445B.3687). 
 

Construction must commence within 18 mos. after  date of OPTC issuance.  Director may 
extend construction commencement date if justified.   
 
 

Billing / Program Funding 
 
NDEP determined that $300,000 was required for the first year of the NMCP operations.  
The Nevada Mining Association (NMA) and the precious metals mining and processing 
industry were approached to help craft the program funding methodology.  The final 
funding methodology was proposed by NMA and consisted of 2 steps.  In the first step it 
was established that the VMRP facilities would split $50,000,  and in the second step, the 
VMRP facilities and other precious metal processing facilities that have mercury emitting 
thermal units would pay the remaining $250,000 balance.  The remaining $250,000 
balance was distributed by charging per mercury emitting thermal unit.  Per unit cost was 
determined by dividing the total number of mercury emitting thermal units in the 
precious metal mining industry reported in the Mercury Questionnaire by $250,000.  It 
was recognized by NMA, industry and the NDEP that for the billing methodology to 
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equitably distribute the financial cost, that accurate data reporting on the Mercury 
Questionnaires would be critical.   
 
The NDEP has received a number of comments regarding the equitability of the billing 
process.  Commenters have voiced concern that some facilities under-reported or did not 
report accurately and therefore did not contribute their fair share to the Program costs.  
The billing process will be significantly refined for the second billing year.  The required 
Phase-1 mercury applications will provide detailed emission unit information and the 
NDEP will begin facility inspections.  In addition, facilities will have the opportunity to 
have thermal units designated as de minimis, thereby removing the units’ from eligibility 
for billing. 
 
 

De Minimis 
 

1.  De minimis mercury emissions means mercury emissions from a thermal unit that 
emits mercury which are determined by the Director to be insufficient to require 
compliance with the requirements for a mercury operating permit or application of 
NvMACT.   

 
2.  De minimis is a separate concept from an insignificant activity.  De minimis 

designation does not deem a unit Insignificant; nor does an Insignificant status deem 
a unit de minimis.  Insignificant is an Air Quality Operating Permit concept; de 
minimis  is a mercury permit concept.   

 
3.  De minimis is a case-by-case determination.  There are no default excluded items (eg: 

list of excluded items).  There is no default status by equipment specification, 
throughput or operational procedure. 

 
4.  A facility must demonstrate an emission unit’s de minimis status annually to retain the 

de minimis designation. 
 
 

Some Notable Dates 
January 15, 2006 Questionnaire sent out as formal information request 
March 8, 2006 NMCP adopted 
March 15, 2006 Questionnaire to be returned completed to NDEP 
May 4, 2006 NMCP effective 
July 3, 2006 Director’s determination regarding de minimis.   

August 2, 2006 An owner or operator of Tier-1 thermal unit that emits mercury (VMRP sources as 
listed in 445B.3651) shall submit a Phase-1 application. 

September 1, 2006* NDEP determine completeness of Phase-1 applications 

October 31, 2006 An owner or operator of Tier-2 thermal unit that emits mercury (non-VMRP and 
not de minimis) shall submit a Phase-1 application. 

November 30, 2006* Director determine completeness deadline for Phase-2 application. 
December 31, 2006 Phase-1 application testing (approved test method with speciation) due. 
August 2007* Issue or deny Phase-1 permit (from complete application) 

February 4, 2008* An owner or operator of a Tier-1 or Tier-2 thermal unit that emits mercury shall 
submit a Phase-2 application.   

March 2008* Determination of completeness for Phase-2 application. 
* These times may vary--represent “deadline dates”; actions may occur earlier. 


