Revised February 2004
One of the goals of Nevada's Waste Tire Management Program is to minimize the threat to public health and the environment resulting from improper storage and disposal of waste tires. In order to achieve this goal, it is vital that the flow of waste tires generated from retail tire outlets are kept out of illegal tire dumps and standards are adopted for on-site storage. To accomplish this, Nevada has adopted regulations that 1) require tire retailers to use registered waste tire haulers, 2) require haulers and retailers to maintain records regarding the disposal of waste tires, and 3) limit the number of waste tires that can be stored on-site without a permit. Requirements
Store no more than 1,500 passenger waste tires or an equivalent amount of waste tire material on-site at any time. If a retailer plans to store more than 1,500 waste tires, they must apply for a Waste Tire Management Facility Permit with the appropriate solid waste management authority (listed on the back page). The permit, among other things, will require the business to have financial assurance (money set aside to pay for the removal of the waste tires upon closure).
Each retailer who contracts with a waste tire hauler must contract with a registered hauler. Retailers who hire unauthorized haulers may be liable for costs associated with cleanup of an illegal tire dump. Every registered hauler will have a decal on his/her truck and a registration card issued by the solid waste management authority. If you have questions about a hauler, contact the appropriate authority (listed on the back page). Waste tire haulers are required to return a copy of a completed manifest to the retailer where a waste tire shipment initiated. The manifest must show that the tires were taken to an approved disposal or recycling facility. A retailer who does not receive a copy of a completed manifest from a waste tire hauler within 30 days of pick-up should report the missing manifest to the appropriate solid waste management authority.
If a retailer does not contract with a waste tire hauler, they may haul their own tires or contract with a licensed solid waste hauler (e.g. Waste Management, Inc., Republic Services of Southern Nevada). If either of these options is used, the retailer shall keep receipts for the disposition of the tires for at least 3 years. The receipts must list the number, weight, or volume of tires and their destination. The records must be available for inspection by the solid waste management authority during regular business hours. Too Good to be True Haulers who offer to take waste tires at a price that seems too good to be true may not be registered and could be dumping those tires at illegal sites. Generally, fees charged by transporters range from $.70 to $1.50 per tire. The fee should be slightly higher than the cost at the commercial rate of disposing of a tire at the nearest disposal facility or waste tire management facility. Fees which are significantly lower may indicate improper disposal and a liability for the retailer. Significant penalties can be levied against a hauler or retailer caught dumping waste tires illegally. Incinerating or improperly disposing of a waste tire is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of no less than $100 per violation, (which can be interpreted as $100 per tire), or $5,000 per day, or both. In some cases criminal prosecution may be sought to force the responsible parties to remove the tires from the site.
Tire Surcharge Fee
Since January 1, 1992, tire retailers have been required to collect a $1 tire surcharge from every purchaser of a new tire. The funds generated from the fee (totaling approx. $1.5 million per year), are deposited in the Solid Waste Management Account to support solid waste management programs statewide.
For more information on this program or a list of registered waste tire haulers, please contact the appropriate solid waste management authority representative:
In Clark County:
Clark County Health District
625 Shadow Lane
P.O. Box 3902
Las Vegas, NV 89127
In Washoe County:
Washoe County District Health Department
1001 East Ninth Street
P.O. Box 11130
Reno, NV 89520
All other counties:
The Nevada Division of Environmental Protection
Solid Waste Branch
901 South Stewart Street, Suite 4001
Carson City, NV 89701
Created 4/22/03, Rev.1 9/10/03, Rev.2 2/9/04
Back to NDEP
Solid Waste Branch -- Solid Waste Guidance Documents