FACT SHEET
OPERATOR CERTICATION

Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) 445A.830 “Operator” defined. “Operator” means a person
regularly in charge of the day to day operations of a public water system.

NRS 445A.870 Advisory board regarding certification of operators: Appointment;
membership; compensation of members.

1. The state board of health may appoint an advisory board to act in an advisory capacity
in matters relating to the certification of operators of community water systems or
noncommunity water systems.

2.

3.

If such an advisory board is appointed:
(a) At least one member of the advisory board must be a member of the American
Water Works Association.
(b) At least one member of the advisory board must be a member of the Nevada
Rural Water Association or its successor organization.
(c) One member of the advisory board may represent the general public.
Each member of the advisory board serves without compensation. While engaged in
the business of the advisory board, each member of the advisory board is entitled to
receive the per diem allowance and travel expenses provided for state officers and
employees generally, to the extent that money is made available for that purpose.

NRS 445A.875 Certification of operators: Requirement; operation of multiple systems;
presence of operator on-site.

1.

2.

3.

4.

Except as otherwise provided in subsection 2, a person shall not act as an operator of
a community water system or noncommunity water system unless he has obtained a
certificate to operate such a water system from the health division.

An operator of a transient water system is not required to obtain a certificate to
operate a noncommunity water system if the system is designated by the health
division as being supplied by ground water that is not under the direct influence of
surface water.

An operator may be certified to operate more than one community water system or
noncommunity water system.

This section does not require a certified operator to be on site at a community water
system or noncommunity water system during all hours of operation.

Reciprocity:

Reciprocity for operators who hold a certification from another state will be granted on a
case-by-case basis depending on education and experience. Successful completion of
exams used by the Association of Boards of Certification (ABC) for water treatment and
water distribution are favorable criteria for evaluating reciprocity.



Full:

A person will be issued a full certificate if he or she passes an examination for certification for
his or her specific classification and has the following experience in performance of operation
activities including the treatment or distribution of water.

Classification Years Experience
Distribution Class — 1 6 months
Distribution Class — 2 1 year
Distribution Class — 3 2 years
Distribution Class — 4 3 years
Treatment Class — 1 6 months
Treatment Class — 2 1 year
Treatment Class — 3 2 years
Treatment Class — 4 3 years

Operator-in-training (OIT)

A person will be issued an OIT certificate if he or she does not have the experience
required for a full certificate, but has passed the examination for certification for his or
her specific classification. Once the experience has been fulfilled, a full certificate can be
issued.

Continuing Education Units (C.E.U’s):

Credit for continuing education units will be given for documented attendance of training
approved by the Health Division. There are a number of organizations that provide
training in Nevada, including USEPA, AWWA, Nevada Public Works Association
(NPWA), Nevada State Health Division, Nevada Rural Water Association, Water Waste
Water Education and training (WWET), WWET is located in Clark County, and local
community colleges.

Renewals:

Applications for renewals will be sent to current Nevada Certification Operators prior to
expiration. Applications will request training received over the biennium to evaluate
continuing education units (C.E.U.’s). Fees for renewal must accompany the
application. All certificates expire on December 31 of the first calendar year after the
calendar year in which it is issued. After that all certifications will renew every 2 years,
the renewal fee is $30.00. All grades 1 & 2 need 5 hours of training to renew, and all
grades 3 & 4 need 10 hours of training to renew.



Advisory Board:

Dean Alford, Chairman
Converse Consultants
421 Court Street

Elko, NV 89801

Lynn Forsberg, Vice Chairman

Elko County

155 8. 9" St

Elko, NV 89801

(775) 738-6816

Fax: (775) 738-4581

E-mail: lforsberg@elkocountynv.net

Chet Auckly, President

S.E.E. Company LLC

895 West 11" Street

Reno, NV 89503

(775) 324-7024

Fax: (775) 324-5550

E-mail: aquafrigor@worldnet.att.net

Darrin Price

Sun Valley G.I.D.

5000 Sun Valley Boulevard
Sun Valley, NV 89433

Cameron McKay

Round Hill GID

PO Box 976

Zephyr Cove, NV 89448
(775) 588-2571

Fax: (775) 588-5030
E-mail: rhgid@aol.com

Marie Pollack

Clark Co. Water Reclamation Dist. (T-F)
5857 E. Flamingo Road

Las Vegas, NV 89122-5598

(702) 434-6600

E-mail: mpollack@co.clark.nv.us




STUDY MATERIALS

Water Treatment:

Water Treatment Plant Operation, Vol. 1 & 2, Ken Kerri course, California State University,
(CSUS) Sacramento, CA, Office of Water Programs, 6000 J St., Sacramento, CA 95819-6025,
(916) 278-6142

Manual of Instruction for Water Treatment Plant Operators (“New York Manual”), New York
Department of Health, Health Education Service, PO BOX 7126, Albany, NY 12224

American Water Works Association Book Store has a good selection of study materials,
6666 West Quincy Ave., Denver, CO 80235, (303) 794-7711, www.awwa.org.

Operator Certification Training PO BOX 332, Gladstone, OR 97027, (888) 248-8916,
WWW.octinc.com.

Arasmith Consulting, 1298 Elm St. S,W., Albany, OR 97321, (541) 928-5211.

Water Distribution

Water Distribution System Operation & Maintenance, CSUS (address per above)
Introduction to Water Distribution, AWWA (address above)

Operator Certification Study Guide, AWWA (address above)

The venders listed above have many reference books, manuals and other instructive materials.



